Best Read [G.K. Chesterton] ½ The Poet and the Lunatics || [Nonfiction Book] PDF ☆


  • Title: The Poet and the Lunatics
  • Author: G.K. Chesterton
  • ISBN: 9780755100200
  • Page: 406
  • Format: Paperback

  • Gabriel Gale is an eccentric poet His madness is the madness of insight and he uses this gift to solve or prevent crimes committed by madmen Chesterton ably illustrates his own premise that lunacy and sanity may just be a point of view
    G.K. Chesterton
    Gilbert Keith Chesterton 1874 1936 was born in London, educated at St Paul s, and went to art school at University College London In 1900, he was asked to contribute a few magazine articles on art criticism, and went on to become one of the most prolific writers of all time He wrote a hundred books, contributions to 200 , hundreds of poems, including the epic Ballad of the White Horse, five plays, five novels, and some two hundred short stories, including a popular series featuring the priest detective, Father Brown In spite of his literary accomplishments, he considered himself primarily a journalist He wrote over 4000 newspaper essays, including 30 years worth of weekly columns for the Illustrated London News, and 13 years of weekly columns for the Daily News He also edited his own newspaper, G.K s Weekly.Chesterton was equally at ease with literary and social criticism, history, politics, economics, philosophy, and theology.

    Poetry The Parnassus by Raphael famous poets recite alongside the nine Muses atop Mount Parnassus Poetry the term derives from a variant of the Greek term, poiesis, making is a form of literature that uses aesthetic and rhythmic qualities of language such as phonaesthetics, sound symbolism, and metre to evoke meanings in addition to, or in place of, the prosaic ostensible meaning Maya Angelou Poet Academy of American Poets Maya Angelou Poet Maya Angelou was an author, poet, historian, songwriter, playwright, dancer, stage and screen producer, director, performer, singer, and civil Famous Poets and Poems Read and Enjoy Poetry Although remembered now for his elegantly argued critical essays, Matthew Arnold began his career as a poet, winning early recognition as a student at the Rugby School where his father, Thomas Arnold, had earned national acclaim as a strict and innovative headmaster. Emily Dickinson Emily Elizabeth Dickinson December , May , was an American poet. Dickinson was born in Amherst, Massachusetts into a prominent family with strong ties to its community After studying at the Amherst Academy for seven years in her youth, she briefly attended the Mount Holyoke Female Seminary before returning to her family s house in Amherst. William Shakespeare Poet Academy of American Poets William Shakespeare Poet William Shakespeare, regarded as the foremost dramatist of his time, wrote than thirty plays and than one hundred sonnets, all written in the form of three quatrains and a couplet that is now recognized as Shakespearean. The William Blake Archive Subscribe to The William Blake Archive Newsletter Copyright , The William Blake Archive Follow BlakeArchive The Poet X Elizabeth Acevedo National Book Award Winner Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times bestselling novel in verse by an award winning slam poet, about an Afro Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. List of Poets Famous Poets and Poems A List of Famous Poets includes Poems and Biographical information of the most Famous Poets Read and Enjoy Poetry by Famous Poets. Poet Profiles To join this site click on your name above If your name needs to be added please contact us. Basho s Haiku Heartfelt Thanks to all of the visitors who have found their way to the site, and to all my teachers all of you , those who supported my efforts, and the many who allowed their work to be displayed here, and of course, my wife Paula for reminding me what time it was in the wee hours of the morning.


    Commentaires:

    booklady
    The Poet and the Lunatics is a collection of G.K. Chesterton short stories centered around poet and some-time painter, Gabrielle Gale, who either solves crimes committed by lunatics or prevents them before they happen. In the opening story, Gale, himself is so eccentric, you aren’t altogether sure whether he is the keeper or the kept. In subsequent tales, he continues to mystify in his methods. One is frequently reminded of Chesterton’s other renown sleuth, Father Brown, although Gale’s be [...]

    Dave
    Chesterton takes his paradoxical, sometimes upside down view of the world about as far as it can go - wonderful results and insights.

    Lucas Magrini Rigo
    Chesterton traz algo de Tolkien na descrição dos contos. Faz uma descrição agradabilíssima do ambiente, das personagens, do enredo. Ler os contos é como tomar um banho quente e relaxante após um dia de trabalho ou quem sabe tomar uma gelada em um dia muito quente Quero dizer que é um prazer relaxante.Recomendo ler como um "entre-livros", pois a leitura flui rápido e exercita o ritmo de leitura.

    Kathy
    Quintessential Chesterton. Paradox, mystery, the aura of place. Who is the lunatic? Who is sane?

    George
    My favorite book. Helped me appreciate the beauty of small things.

    Pnyxis
    [Publicado originalmente en anunusualstory]Si eres de los listos y afortunados locos que siguen el blog no será para ti ningún secreto que Gilbert Keith Chesterton es uno de mis escritores predilectos. Ya hablé aquí de Ortodoxia, uno de mis libros favoritos, y también de vez en cuando te he traído algún texto suyo. Sin embargo, el libro de hoy era desconocido hasta para mí, y eso que he curioseado más de una vez la bibliografía del hombre-montaña inglés.Por eso, al igual que el pobre [...]

    Francisco
    En principio encontré el libro aburrido, y creo que se debe a que el primer relato es casi ininteligible hasta que has leído el último.Mis favoritos han sido los siguientes:- "El pájaro amarillo", que trata el problema de la libertad de manera original.- "El dedo de piedra", que aborda de un modo singular la cuestión de la vanidad y la honradez que pueden acompañar a la ciencia, sin que sea una excepción al conocimiento humano en general.- "La casa del pavo real". Puro Chesterton: una sit [...]

    Lucy
    Nobody can touch Chesterton for evoking weather and skies and atmosphere. Sometimes these are fairly incidental to his work, but in this they often take centre stage. I love Chesterton for this and many other facets of his writing - so why only 4 stars? Because the notion of lunatics is even more jarring nowadays than his casual anti-semitism. And I just couldn't stifle my unease at the central premise. Shame.

    Elderberrywine
    Chesterton's central conceit, in this loosely connected series of short stories, is that although the world at large thinks Gabriel Gale, poet and painter, to be a species of lunatic, in fact he is a keeper, or guardian, of lunatics, since he knows the manner in which their minds work. Hmm. Afraid I was not totally convinced on that score.

    Steve Vetsch
    I really and enjoyed this book. I recommend anything by G K Chesterton. Just who is the Poet? and who are the Lunatics? Read it and find out. I have read this book multiple times and enjoy it each time

    Christina
    recommended by Sarah Field

    Pete Hansen
    I stalled out on this book after the first story

    Nicole Marie
    4.5 stars

    Elizabeth
    I think I'll keep a shop in Croydon and marry someone who is into church work. I need to have limits to live a life.

    Carlota
    I

    • Best Read [G.K. Chesterton] ½ The Poet and the Lunatics || [Nonfiction Book] PDF ☆
      406 G.K. Chesterton
    • thumbnail Title: Best Read [G.K. Chesterton] ½ The Poet and the Lunatics || [Nonfiction Book] PDF ☆
      Posted by:G.K. Chesterton
      Published :2018-09-17T05:23:43+00:00