Unlimited [Thriller Book] ☆ The Golden Dog - by William Kirby Å


  • Title: The Golden Dog
  • Author: William Kirby
  • ISBN: null
  • Page: 400
  • Format: Kindle Edition

  • This book was converted from its physical edition to the digital format by a community of volunteers You may find it for free on the web Purchase of the Kindle edition includes wireless delivery.
    William Kirby
    Although born in England, Kirby settled in Niagra in Canada He is most well known for The Golden Dog, a historical novel set in Quebec.


    Commentaires:

    Louis
    Étrange objet que ce Chien d’or: Kirby y démontre une connaissance approfondie de la géographie et de l’histoire de Québec (la ville) où il situe, vers 1748, un récit manichéen peuplé de personnages trop beaux pour être vrais, qui connaîtront une destinée tragique prévisible des centaines de pages à l’avance, et de personnages retors (Bigot en favori de la Pompadour, La Corriveau en empoisonneuse descendante d’un mage italien) qui, bien sûr, continueront de s’engraisser a [...]

    Debbie Zapata
    Had to give up on this one. I love the time period of the story but the author was finished with Chapter 2 and nothing had happened except introductions. That is the trouble with older books sometimes, the actual story does not start until halfway through the book. Someday I might try this one again, but now I need more action!

    Kalen
    The following is not a review. It's only notes for personal referenceI read the abridged version.The story only got interesting near the end. The courtship between the two main characters seemed drawn out and long. Read in Winter 2010

    Linda
    Don't let the title fool you: The Golden Dog is not about a canine, but a trading post in 18th-century French Canada. It begins with true love, happiness, and romance, but ends in murder, treachery, and misery. No one gets a happy ending.

    Valerie
    19th century classic. Read in university and admired it.

    Nicole
    Le Chien d'Or was absolutely amazing. Every word was like poetry. It isn't an easy read but it is well worth the time.

    Heep
    This is a surprisingly entertaining and well-constructed tale in the tradition of Dumas and Fenimore Cooper. The author is verbose and moralistic in the style of the time. There are many passages like these:“She listened with moistened eyelids and heaving bosom as he told her again of his faithfulness in the past, his joys in the present, and his hopes in the future. She feared to look up lest she should break the charm, but when he had ended she turned to him passionately and kissed his lips [...]

    • Unlimited [Thriller Book] ☆ The Golden Dog - by William Kirby Å
      400 William Kirby
    • thumbnail Title: Unlimited [Thriller Book] ☆ The Golden Dog - by William Kirby Å
      Posted by:William Kirby
      Published :2019-08-20T09:39:42+00:00